Key factors of a DUI

On Behalf of | Sep 1, 2017 | Drunk Driving |

Driving under the influence is a serious matter. Over the years, the government has become quite deliberate about cracking down on such cases, which shows in their prosecution.

If you or a loved one is facing a DUI case, you may encounter stiff penalties, which might include jail time. Considering this, it is important you understand a few key factors about DUI charges.


Pennsylvania law chapter 38 denotes the regulation of the use of alcohol and illegal drugs. This includes the legal blood alcohol content level. For individuals under the age of 21, they cannot have more than a .02% level, and for those 21 and older, a level over .08% is grounds for a DUI charge.

Test refusal

In Pennsylvania, there is an implied consent law in place. In short, this law states that drivers are automatically subject to take a sobriety test if an officer arrests them for a DUI. If individuals decide to refuse sobriety test requests, they may face punishment. For a first offense, a driver may receive a one-year license suspension, and for those on their second offense or more, it is possible to incur an 18-month suspension.


Individuals who receive a DUI conviction face stiff penalties, including possible jail time, fees and license suspension. For a first offense with no additional infractions, the courts may be lenient, forgoing jail time and charging a minimum fine of $300. However, more heinous offenses or repeat DUI charges may lead to individuals receiving two-year jail sentences and fees of up to $5,000. It is important for individuals to understand the extent of the charges they face.

These are just a few key factors concerning DUI charges. Should you face such infractions, make sure you formulate the best defense possible. A knowledgeable attorney may be helpful in determining the best options for you. It is also important that you take time to understand the law so you know your rights and what to expect.